SEARCHING MOVIE REVIEW

Searching is directed by Aneesh Chaganty and stars John Cho and Debra Messing. The plot of the movie is after his 16-year-old daughter goes missing, a desperate father breaks into her laptop to look for clues to find her. I heard a lot of good things about this movie, but the one thing I was worried about was the way the story was being told. It is all told from the unique perspective of the daughter’s laptop and I thought that I would get tired of that after a while.    This is one of the biggest surprises of the year for me. This idea has been used as a gimmick in a lot of films, but it was done extremely well it was utilized properly for this film. It put you into the situation with this character.  I love character pieces especially character pieces that revolve around a thrilling story like this.  I felt like I was in this story with John Cho. I was worried with him, paranoid with him and every emotion he felt in this movie I felt with him because I felt a connection with this character.    I was invested in this movie from start to finish I really wanted to know where the story was going and how it all paid off. I loved everything about it. John Cho was fantastic. His character is extremely likable and you want him to succeed and find his daughter. Debra Messing gives a fantastic performance and there is so much more to her character than I thought there was going to be. Michelle La plays Margot the girl who goes missing she doesn’t get a lot of screen time, but in the time she does have I felt like I really got to know her and wanted her to be found in the end.    This movie a fantastic Thriller it is very suspenseful and it is one of my favorite movies of the year.  5 out of 5 stars for Searching. I hope you enjoyed my review and I hope it helped you decide whether to see the movie or not.

searching_ver3

Leave a comment