CRAZY RICH ASIANS MOVIE REVIEW

Crazy Rich Asians is directed by Jon M. Chu and star Constance Wu, Henry Golding, Gemma Chan, Awkwafina, Nico Santos, Lisa Lu, Ken Jeong, and Michelle Yeoh. This contemporary romantic comedy, based on a global bestseller, follows native New Yorker Rachel Chu to Singapore to meet her boyfriends family.  This film isn’t amazing and it’s not perfect, but I did have a good time watching it and laughed a lot.  This cast is extremely talented Awkwafina is hilarious in this movie. Her humor is sprinkled throughout the film and she adds a nice amount of levity to the film.  Constance Wu I thought was fantastic. Michelle Yeoh is also really good as the boyfriend’s mother she’s incredibly intimidating. She’s the type of person you need to impress instantly and you can tell quickly if she hates you or not. Unforturently while I found Michelle Yeoh to be amazing in the role the character was just too unpleasant for me and there is nothing redeeming about her.    The film starts and I was enjoying it, but the film really picks up once everyone gets to Singapore and the conflict between Rachel and the mother starts. The first half does take its time and it does feel like every other romantic comedy.  I would love to see a much better film with a cast like this, but the movie is entertaining it’s just not going to be one of my favorites of the year.    3 out of 5 stars for Crazy Rich Asians. I hope you enjoyed my review and I hope it helped you decide whether to see the movie or not.

crazy_rich_asians

Leave a comment